Cyclic Defrost

An Australian magazine focusing on interesting music

“Here Is The NEW(s)” – Extended Playlist 040110 – 107.3FM

Happy New Year!

On our first show for 2010, we welcome the new decade with a homage to the brand spanking – new recordings and new arrivals.

We’re super excited about Terrace Industry: M Squared Box 1980-1983, a 4-CD collection of M Squared material from Ascension Records, which comes with full-story booklet and 4 beer mats (!) and features tracks never before released on CD.
See them play LIVE: A stack of artists represented on this collection, including Scattered Order and The Makers Of The Dead Travel Fast, some of them reformed for this once-only event, are performing at Wilshire Street Noise – Sunday 17 January at the Sando (details below).

We also finally got a chance to play you extracts from The Emergency“s remixes promo and the demo from new Emergency side-project Peace Out! (Milo plus former Emergency nurse Daina). Their Melbourne shows, an audio-visual spectacular, have been getting rave reviews (come play in Sydney now!).

In Sydney over the next 10 days:

Saturday 9 January
The Emergency LIVE

9pm-5am @ Civic Hotel, 388 Pitt St, Sydney
(launching new album “Dreams That Money Can Buy” – also: Fashion Launches Rocket Launches, No Art, Softwar, Panache Chants)

Sunday 10 January
The Emergency LIVE

5pm-11pm @ Oxford Art Factory, 42 Oxford Street, Sydney – $15 (+ bf)
(part of Sister Cities Music Festival – also: Megastick Fanfare, Love Connection, Shady Lane, The Tantrums, TST, The Lockwoods, Bon Chat Bon Rat)

Plus lots happening around Sydney’ original post-punk scene revival:

Sydney Festival – Circa 1979: Signal to Noise

Thursday 14 January
Severed Heads, The Reels LIVE, Stephen Mallinder (Cabaret Voltaire) DJ

8pm @ Hyde Park Barracks, Sydney – $38(+bf) / free after 11.30pm (subject to capacity)
Severed Heads are pioneers of Australian experimental electronic music and multi-media performance. New wave band The Reels penned ‘Quasimodo’s Dream’, recognised by APRA as one of the ten greatest Australian songs of all time. Stephen Mallinder of Sheffield electro pioneers Cabaret Voltaire and Sydney electro/tech DJ Mark Murphy round off the night.

Saturday 16 January
Signal to Noise Sessions

12pm-5pm @ Everest Theatre, Seymour Centre, City Road, Chippendale – FREE
A day of free talks exploring early experimentation in music, film and video and the cultural influences surrounding one of the most creative periods in Australia’ music history. Key panelists including Tom Ellard (Severed Heads), Andrew Penhallow (Volition Records), Stephen Mallinder (Cabaret Voltaire) and Roger Grierson (Thought Criminals) share their works, insights and experiences from the underground of Australian music.

Sunday 17th January
Wilshire Street Noise

5pm-11pm @ Sandringham Hotel, King Street Newtown, Sydney – $15 at the door
In celebration of Sydney Festival – Circa 1979: Signal to Noise and the release of ”Terrace Industry”…
Wild West (featuring Cathy Hopkins)
No-V-Bleet Shift (formerly of Great White Noise)
Scattered Order Mk1
The Makers of the Dead Travel Fast
No Night Sweats
The Loop Orchestra
MC Scott Holmes (The Same / Scattered Order)

16-24 January
Signal to Noise at the Sound Lounge

January 16/17 and 23/24 2pm-10pm, January 19-22 5pm-10pm @ Sound Lounge, Seymour Centre – FREE
An exhibition of fanzines, photography and album artwork will revive and recreate the Sydney underground music scene of 1979-1985. Coupled with unreleased music and a previously unseen video archive, this exhibition is the first of its kind.

# > Australian artist or release

Malaria! – How Do You Like My New Dog?
(“How Do You Like My New Dog?” single – 1981, Les Disques Du Crépuscule)

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark – The New Stone Age
(“Architecture & Morality” – 1981, Dindisc)

Brian Eno & David Byrne – New Feet
(“My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts (reissue)” – 2006, Nonesuch) (original 1981)

Height/Dismay – Picnic On The Nile
(“Terrace Industry: M Squared Box 1980-1983” Box Set – 2010, Ascension) (recorded 1981) #

Z’EV – Act Three – New Titans
(“Opus 3” – 1990, Staalplaat)

23 Skidoo – New Testament
(“Seven Songs” mini-album – 1982, Fetish)

Mittageisen – Neuer Tag
(“1981-1986 Remastered” 2xCD – 2008, mital-U) (original 1983)

Eyeless in Gaza – New Risen
(“New Risen” 12inchEP – 1983, Cherry Red)

Stereolab – New Orthophony
(“Aluminum Tunes” 2xCD – 1998, Warp) (original 1994)

The Makers Of The Dead Travel Fast – Lovers Of Observatory Time
(“Terrace Industry: M Squared Box 1980-1983” Box Set – 2010, Ascension) (original 1981) #

Psapp – New Rubbers
(“The Only Thing I Ever Wanted” – 2006, Domino)

The Emergency – Vanishing Prize (Faux Pas Remix)
(“Remixes” promo – 2009, Metal Postcard/Exo) #

Peace Out! – Nazca Lines
(“Peace Out!” demo – 2009) #

Trance Induction – New Age Heartcore
(“Context Control E.P.” – 1993, Guerilla)

The Human League – New Pink Floyd
(“The Golden Hour Of The Future” – 2008, Black Melody)

# > Australian artist or release


4-4-2music Advertise! Advertise! Iuengliss
Subscribe to posts via email

Cyclic Defrost is Australia’s only specialist electronic music magazine. We cover independent electronic music, avant-rock, experimental sound art and leftfield hip hop. Read more

Email: info[at]

The views contained herein are not necessarily the views of the publisher nor the staff of Cyclic Defrost. Copyright remains with the authors and/or Cyclic Defrost.